Altogether, this music cloaks subtle avant-garde proclivities in soft light and open air. It’s by far the most compositionally ambitious record cited here, and it marks a fine entry in Rathbun’s-and Wheeler’s-catalogs of exploration.
– Nate Chinen, Jazz Times

Rathbun continues to exhibit bold, imaginative musicianship on his third release, which plays out like an extended suite. He utilizes the fine players in his group to create a majestic yet subtle panorama of sounds and moods, some of which are entirely spontaneous. ★★★★
– David Adler, All Music Guide

All Reviews


Andrew Rathbun – saxophones
Kenny Wheeler – trumpet & flugelhorn
Frank Carlberg – piano
John Herbert – bass
Jeff Hirshfield – drums
Taylor Haskins – trumpet (track 1)

All compositions by Andrew Rathbun

Recorded September 2001 at The Studio, New York

Recorded and mixed by Jon Rosenberg
Edited by Andrew Rathbun
Produced by Taylor Haskins & Andrew Rathbun
Executive producer: Jordi Pujol
Photography & design by David Korchin

© 2002 Fresh Sound Records